Sunset Flora

Arriving to the park at around 6:15, I noticed the impact of fall on the leaves around the park.  Some, still retaining that light, summery green, reminded me of the good times I had outdoors over the summer.  The other trees were filled with wonderfully orange leaves.  The yellowish tint they hold in the sunlight gives a true sense of fall in the air.wash park 3.png

One thing I really noticed was that there were lots of bugs in the air when walking around the park.  I had to keep my distance from the water and muddier areas because they were infested with pesky bugs.  The sunset along the horizon just above the tree line provided for an amazing view.  The weather was nice and calm.  I could see small animals wading in the pond and presumably searching for food.  untitled.pngThe picture does not do justice to how wonderful the mountains looked from my vantage point in person.  As I walked further into Washington Park I came across a well-kept garden filled with flowers of all colors.  Vibrant warm colors like red and orange shined through in the garden.  I was able to capture part of the flower garden where the taller flowers seem to be blowing in the wind.  The garden was a good center piece for this part of the park.wash park.pngOne of the coolest things about the pond in the park was its absolute stillness.  With the sunset reflecting upon the still water, looking out towards the mountains was extremely pleasant.  The calmness of the water really makes you wonder what’s going on underneath the surface.  On the other side of the pond, I can see trees branches hanging over the water, providing a constant point of shade for anything in that part of the water.  I can imagine the spot under the tree being a prime place to find some schools of fish lounging.wash park 2.png

2 thoughts on “Sunset Flora

  1. Hey James, I like how the blog is coming along! Grant is also blogging about Washington Park, and your blogs are completely different!

    1. Photos are great! Maybe try to document more of the same places with each trip to show their changes.

    2. The title of this one caught my attention, mainly because I’m a sucker for sunsets. I wasn’t disappointed! This blog is beautiful and I appreciate the attention to details.

    3. I would like to know some history behind this park, if you can find any.

    4. I would work on documenting more specific spots and revisiting those. I would also encourage you to find some names of plants and trees and start writing about those.

    Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. 1. I love the photos in this post. You did a much better job at portraying the park itself. The only critique I have in regards to the photos in that you took them vertically. Taking landscape photos will not only fit the shape of the blog better, but it will also do a better job at capturing your perspective. I liked how the photos showed changes in the park. The first photo does a good job at showing the redness in the trees. I also love to sunset photos, beauty.
    2. I found this entry to be more interesting. You used more descriptive vocabulary and the photos enabled me to form an image in my head of the park. I like how you explained what the animals are doing and added more deep observations.
    3. I would find it very cool if you identified a couple species of plants and maybe took a couple detailed photos of the gardens or the trees. To me, one of the more interesting parts is learning about the nature at your site. Washington Park has tons of beautiful trees, flowers, and other plants, so try to document those.
    4. Going forward I would work on writing more. You write really well and I think it would be a great read if you went really deep into your observations. The way I do this is by bringing a notebook and filling up 3 pages with just observations, what you see. Then I take these and form a narrative with them. I think you could benefit by doing this. I really liked this post, you definitely improved your style/formatting from the first one.

    Like

Leave a comment